Single room in quiet, cosy flat with free off-street parking in leafy but well-connected area of SE London. Sharing with me, the owner, and my cat Vegas

Overview

SE19 1UR
£420.00/
Property type
Flat
Bedroom size
Single
Preferred gender
Any
Share with how many others
1
Use of Kitchen
Use of living room
Wifi
Can smoke
Parking
Garden
Sole use of Bathroom

Description

I have a cosy, smartly decorated single room to rent out in my purpose-built two-bedroom flat in leafy Gipsy Hill/Crystal Palace. You will be sharing with me and Vegas, my characterful cat. I am a quiet non-smoker and am looking for a non-smoking lodger.  The room has a single bed, hooks for hanging clothes, a chest of drawers, fold out desk, a chair and mirror. There is secure cycle storage in the basement and I have a car parking space in the block's car park which you could use if needed (included in the price). Wifi and all bills are included. I am quite a busy person and occasionally stay at my partner's so there will be some nights when the flat is yours. The flat is in a lovely green area - you wake up to birdsong in the mornings! - and is on the ground floor with direct access from the patio to the communal garden. There are 18 flats in total in the block and everyone is very friendly. Despite being a leafy area and feeling far removed from the hustle and bustle of London, it is very quick and easy to get into central London, especially the Victoria area or anywhere connected to Victoria. Sydenham Hill station is a 5 minute walk (15 minutes journey time to London Victoria). It is a 10-15 minute walk to Gipsy Hill station, or a short bus ride to the Overground at Sydenham, so it is very well located for commuting. It is a 15 minute walk up to the Crystal Palace triangle where there are lots of independent restaurants and bars and a cinema. Crystal Palace park (with sports centre and 50 m pool) is a 10-15 minute walk, and Brockwell lido is 5 minutes on the train or one bus ride away.  My previous weekday lodger lived with me for 2 years. We found it easy to share and she used the kitchen and communal living area on the nights she was at the flat. I'd be happy with a similar arrangement with a new lodger. The bathroom has a bath and shower and is recently refurbished to a high standard. The kitchen/living/dining area was done up in Autumn 2018. Bedding and towels provided. I'm preferably looking for a lodger to stay Monday night to Friday morning, but happy to discuss Sunday nights too! I'll ask for a month's rent as deposit and the first month paid upfront.

Transport nearby

5 minute walk to Sydenham Hill station (trains to Victoria - 15 minutes - and to Blackfriars directly at rush hour or changing at Herne Hill other times). Gipsy Hill station is a 10-15 minute walk (trains to London Bridge, Clapham Junction amongst others ). The Overground from Sydenham is a 25 minute walk, or a short bus ride (from across the road). It is 2 stops on the train or one bus to Brixton for the Victoria line tube. I live on a popular commuter cycle route and there is secure cycle parking in the basement of my block of flats.

Describe your neighbourhood here

It is a leafy part of London with lots of local parks near by (Crystal Palace park, Sydenham Hill Wood, Dulwich Park, Brockwell Park). There are some corner shops a stone's throw away and lots of shops and independent restaurants, bars and cafes and an Everyman Cinema on the Crystal Palace triangle (15 minutes walk).

Contact this homeowner

£420.00/per month